Saturday, December 19, 2009

Vote for “Indian of the Year-2009”

Based on the nominations of the readers of the blog here is the list of six contestants for the final round of “Indian of the Year 2009”.

1 – Sonia Gandhi

Sonia Gandhi led Congress Party to an impressive win in the 2009 Lok Sabha election. As Kenny Jacob pointed out, while nominating Sonia Gandhi - “for having revived the congress party and also maintaining composure and maturity in times of victory and failure.”

2 – Manmohan Singh

Manmohan Singh became the first Indian Prime Minister after Jawaharlal Nehru to win re-election after completing a full five year term. His image has played a great role in helping Congress party win big in many states during the elections to the 15th Lok Sabha.

3 – Sachin Tendulkar

Sachin this year completed 20 years of international cricket. Great accomplishment by this living legend of cricket.

4 – AR Rahman

Winning 2 Oscars this year is enough to win the nomination for the Indian of the Year 2009.

5 – Shashi Tharoor

From a former UN Diplomat to a Congress candidate from Trivandrum Lok Sabha constituency to Minister of State for External Affairs all within a span of few months – not many can boost such a resume. Moreover ushered in a fresh lease of life to the ailing image of politicians by being transparent. Most popular Indian in twitter. All these made him into this list.

6 - G Madhavan Nair

The former chairman of ISRO for his incredible achievements in space research.

Vote now for the Indian of the Year 2009

Labels: , , , , , ,

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Enter You Email to Subscribe this Blog

Preview | Powered by FeedBlitz


Anonymous Panthayi said...

I think P. Chidambaram should have been there more than Mr.PM and Sonia Gandhi.

December 20, 2009 6:51 AM  
Blogger Pyari Singh K said...

This comment has been removed by the author.

December 21, 2009 1:11 PM  
Blogger Anand said...

ha ha :)

I cant believe Sonia Gandhi can be in this LIST as her achievements are only limited to her political party. Indian of the year should not be restricted to a particular group. His or her influence should reach to masses. Keeping in mind, Only Rahman, Madhvan and Tendulkar deserve to be in this list.

December 22, 2009 10:10 PM  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

I think it should be Manmohan Singh who need to be the Indian of the Year. He has shown strong leadership and decision making skills to steady the ship during recession time.

December 23, 2009 5:04 AM  

Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home